top of page


Monographs & Edited Volumes

Understanding Stewart O’Nan

By Heike Paul
University of South Carolina Press
The Myths that made America.jpg

This first book-length study of Stewart O’Nan’s work offers a comprehensive introduction to his writings and carefully examines recurring thematic concerns and stylistic characteristics of his novels. The author of eighteen novels, several works of nonfiction, and two short-story collections, O’Nan received the Pirate’s Alley Faulkner Society’s Gold Medal for best novel for Snow Angels and the Drew Heinz Prize for In the Walled City. In 1996 Granta magazine named him one of the Twenty Best Young American Novelists. In Understanding Stewart O’Nan, Heike Paul appraises O’Nan’s oeuvre to date, including his popular multigenerational trilogy of novels—Wish You Were Here; Emily, Alone; and Henry, Himself—that received enthusiastic reviews in the New York Times, the Washington Post, Publishers Weekly, and the Guardian.

bottom of page